Submission is now Open for the 2022 Quramo Writers’ Prize


The annual Quramo Writers’ Prize, organized by Quramo Publishing, is now in its sixth year, and accepting submissions of unpublished manuscript.

The prize, which was first awarded in 2017 to Samuel Monye for his Give Us Each Day, is open to unpublished African writers. It awards a cash prize of one million Naira (about 2400 USD) to the winning author, as well as a publishing deal for the winning book. Two additional finalists receive manuscript feedback, a publishing deal consideration and a free creative writing workshop. The rest of the longlisted authors also have access to the workshop.

The Quramo Writers’ Prize honours unpublished writers of African descent who are working every day to hone their craft and record the continent’s original stories. The annual prize “aims to encourage and stimulate a new community of talented writers, providing an opportunity for otherwise unexposed talent to achieve publishing recognition and encouragement.”

Interested authors are, as a requirement, to submit a complete novel manuscript with a minimum of 30,000 words alongside a one-page synopsis of full-length novels for adults or young adults.

The prize has gone on to introduce a new crop of talent to the African literary scene. Samuel Monye’s winning novel went on to be longlisted for the NLNG Prize in 2021. Previous winners include Alex Kadiri, and most recently Akintomiwa Akinnimi.

Deadline is on April, 30th. Entry is free.

For details on how to write an appealing synopsis for your manuscript, check this article on Quramo Publishing website. For full entry guidelines, go here.



Liked it? Take a second to support Cmoni on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Join our essay competition.

This will close in 13 seconds

Solverwp- WordPress Theme and Plugin

Scroll to Top